Ariadne Daskalakis and Nina Tichman


Polonaise-Fantasie, Op. 61 Chopin
Skizzen, Ruinen, Adlerfittige
Preludes, Op. 61
  1. Allegro maestoso
  2. In moto scorrendo
  3. Molto moderato, in tempo di Polacca
  4. Sehr langsam und schwer
  5. Velocissimo possibile
  6. Lento e sospeso
  7. Allegretto-Souvernir de Paganini-Liszt
  8. Tempo di Valse lento
  9. Presto
  10. Ein Choral, Largo (Erinnerung an Schumann in Endenich)
  11. Molto agitato
  12. Tranquillo
Stefan Heucke
b. 1959
"Subito" for violin and piano (1991) Lutoslawski
Fantasie in C Major, D.934 for violin and piano
  1. Andante molto
  2. Allegretto
  3. Andantino
  4. Tempo I
  5. Allegro vivace
  6. Allegretto
  7. Presto



"Awesome" (New York Times) and "thrilling" (Darmstädter Echo) are two of th eadjectives used to describe Nina Tichman's performances of Claude Debussy.  In New York City, Frankfurt, and other cities in Europe and United States, she held audiences spellbound with her traversal of the complete works in three evenings, and CDs with this repertoire have been called, "because of her exquisite touch, the most beautiful recording of the complete works" (Darmstädter Echo).

Acclaimed as "one of the leading pianists of her generation" (Neue Musik Zeitung), Ms. Tichman is at home in repertoire ranging from Frescobaldi to composers wiritng today, many of whom have entrusted her with world premiers of their compositions.  Her discography includes music by Copland (Complete Works for Piano), Chopin, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Penderecki, Bartók, and Reger.

American born, Nina Tichman has been based in Europe since winning the prestigious Busoni Competition.  Other awards include the Mendelssohn Prize of Berlin, First Prize of the Casagrand Competition in Italy, and the Prize of the Organization of American States.  In 2001 she founded the Xyrion Trio with Ida Bieler and Maria Kliegel, an ensemble that has been praised for its "vital, emotional, and dramatic music making" (Saale-Zeitung) and recently completed its recording of the complete Beethoven Piano Trios.

Nina Tichman is a graduate of The Juilliard School, where she was awarded the Eduard-Steuermann Prize for outstanding musical achievement.  Her pianistic mentors have included Wilhelm Kempff, Hans Leygral, Alfons Kontarsky, and Dorothy Taubman.  In 1993 she was appointed professor of piano at the Hochschule für Musik in Cologne.  She has also led master classes at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, as well as at the Seelscheider Musiktage, Clavicologne, and IKIF in New York.


Critically acclaimed for her stylistic versatility and unique sound, violinist Ariadne Daskalakis is at home on the international stage, as soloist with orchestra including the Munich BR Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Academy of Ancient Music Berlin, the Kammerakademie Potsdam, the Athens National State Orchestra, and the Cologne Sinfonietta.  She has further assumed the dual role of leader and soloist in collaboration with the chamber orchestras of Stuttgart, Prague, and Cologne, the Ensemble Oriol Berlin, and the New Rhine Chamber Orchestra.  She was hailed by German MDR Radio as a "universal specialist" for her recording of Vivaldi Concerti with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra on the Tacet label.

Ms. Daskalakis led the Manon Quartet Berlin for ten years and has concertized since 2012 with the Emanuel Piano Trio.  She performs regularly as recitalist or, on baroque violin, with her Ensemble Vintage Köln, which recently recorded the complete Rosary Sonatas by Biber for the BIS label.  Ms. Daskalakis won the International ARD-Munich Competition, the St. Louis Strings Competition, and various other prizes in the United States and Germany from organizations including the Mozart Society Dortmund, the Harvard Music Associations, and Framingham State University.

Numerous recording document the unusually broad spectrum of her repertoire and the rich depth of her musical experience.  These include the Complete Violin Sonatas by Handel, Fauré, and Raff; Violin Concerti by Tartini, and works by Lutoslawski, Janacek, and Szymanowski (on the Naxos, Carpe Diem, and Tudor labels).  Her Handel and Tartini recordings were both Selections of the Month in The Strad magazine.  Ariadne Daskalakis also collaborates with composers, creating new music and genres, including Caspar Johannes Walter's Violin Concerto Zeichnungen and Christoph Coburger's "Opera Mono" Her K and Frau N with video installation.

Ms. Daskalakis enjoyed an education in music and humanities at The Juilliard School, Harvard University, and the HdK Berlin.  She has specialized in the application of historical performance practice to modern instruments, and is in great demand as a pedagogue and professor at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Cologne.  She has taught as guest artist at The Juilliard School, the Eastman School of Music, and various other international institutions and festivals.

In 2012 Ariadne Daskalakis founded Music from Land's End, an international summer chamber music festival in Wareham, Massachussets.  She also led the International Chamber Music Week at Palazzo Ricci in Montepulciano, Italy, as artistic director in 2012 and 2013.
Contact: Lundström Artists Management, Karina Lundström