Miranda Cuckson and Yegor Shevstov


Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Keyboard in A Major, BWV 1015
  1. [Adagio]
  2. Allegro assai
  3. Andante un poco
  4. Presto
J.S. Bach
Sonata in E Major, K.162 Scarlatti
Sonata for Violin and Piano
  1. Prologue
  2. Sputtering, with Perseverance
Steven Mackey
Sonata for Violin and Piano
  1. Allegro vivo
  2. Intermede: Fantasque et léger
  3. Finale: Trés animé
Jazz Sonata George Antheil
Sonata No. 7 for Violin and Piano in C minor, Op. 30 No. 2
  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Adagio cantabile
  3. Scherzo: Allegro
  4. Finale: Allegro



Violinist and violist Miranda Cuckson is highly acclaimed for her performances of a wide range of repertoire, from early eras to the most current creations.  In demand as a soloist and chamber musicians, she leads an active life as a performer in major concert venues and at universities, galleries, and informal spaces.  She performs at such venues as the Berlin Philharmonic, Carnegie Hall (Stern, Zankel, and Weill halls), the Library of Congress, Miller Theatre, the 92nd Street Y, the Guggenheim Museum, Austrian Cultural Forum, Bargemusic, Museum of Modern Art, Monday Evening Concerts in Los Angeles, and the Marlboro, Bard, Lincoln Center, Bridgehampton, Portland, and Bodensee festivals.

Ms. Cuckson has made lauded appearances as soloist with orchestras in the United States, Europe, the Middle East, and Asia.  Her first CD recording, on Centaur Records, was a disk of concertos by Erich Korngold and Manuel Ponce with the Czech National Symphony.  She subsequently made four recital CDs of 20th century American music for Centaur: disks of music by Ralph Shapey (a two-CD set), Donald Martino, and Ross Lee Finney.  These projects were awarded grants from the Copland Fund for Music and the Ditson Fund.  In 2010, Vanguard Classics released her CD the wreckage of flowers, comprising violin and violin/piano music by Michael Hersch, with pianist Blair McMillen.  Upcoming releases include solo and duo works by Anna Weesner (on Albany Records), and a disk of microtonal solo violin pieces by Xenakis, Haas, Scelsi, Aperghis, and others (New Spectrum Records).

A passionate champion of contemporary music, Ms. Cuckson has in recent years been a greatly sought-after advocate in the area of new-music performance.  She has given numerous premiers of solo and chamber pieces and has worked with composers including Henri Dutilleux, Elliot Carter, Salvatore Sciarrino, John Adams, Helmut Lachenmann, Mario Davidovsky, and Georg Friedrich Haas.  In 2012, she will perform a new work by Harold Meltzer that was commissioned for her by the McKim Fund at the Library of Congress in honor of Fritz Kreisler.  She is active with many ensembles and organizations in New York City, including counter induction, Sequitur, ACME, the Astoria Music Society, Argento Chamber Ensemble, the ISCM, and others, and she directs the concert series Transit Circle, which she founded in 2007.  She has curated and performed in a concert of Ralph Shapey's music in Miller Theatre's Composer Portraits series.

Miranda Cuckson's diverse, recent, and current projects include performing Walter Piston's Violin Concerto No. 1 at Carnegie Hall with the American Symphony Orchestra; a three-concert traversal of the sonatas for violin and piano by Beethoven with pianist Thomas Bagwell; solo recitals juxtaposing works by Bach and Ysaÿe with contemporary pieces; the world premiere of "through a stillness brightening," a work for violin and ensemble written for her by Jeffrey Mumford; and performing Luigi Noon's hour-long work "La lontananza nostalgica utopica futura" for violin and electronics.

At the age of nine, Miranda Cuckson began her studies at the Juilliard School, and went on at Juilliard to receive her BM, MM, and DMA degrees.  As winner of Juilliard's Presser Music award, she made her recital debut at Carnegie Hall's Weill Hall.  She graduated with the Richard F. French prize for best doctoral dissertation.  Her teachers included Robert Mann, Dorothy DeLay, Felix Galimir, and Shirley Givens, and for chamber music, Fred Sherry and members of the Juilliard String Quartet.  Ms. Cuckson teaches violin at Mannes College, the New School for Music, in New York.  A U.S. citizen, she was born to musician parents in Sydney, Australia, and is of Austrian, English, and Taiwanese descent.


Pianist Yegor Shevtsov enjoys a multifaceted career as a solo performer, chamber musician, recording artist, collaborator, and educator.  His performances have been singled out for their "Mozartean elegance" (New York Times) and "superb musicianship" (Miami Herald).  His recent notable engagements have included appearances as a concerto soloist at Symphony Space (New York), Tokyo Bunka Kaikan (Japan), the National Theater in Taipei (Taiwan), and Auditorio de Ciudad de León (Spain).  Yegor Shevtsov's numerous solo recitals have included music spanning 400 years of keyboard music, from Couperin, Rameau, and Scarlatti to many compoers of his generation.  In the 2012-13 season, Yegor Shevtsov has performed across the United States at Ojai Festival (California), Present Music Season Finale in Milwaukee (Wisconsin), Rockport Chamber Music Festival (Massachusetts), and ShapeShifter Lab, Roulette, and Barbés (New York).  Most recently he recorded ...avec un frisson, an album of late piano music of Debussy and Boulez, released on New Focus Recordings (FCR132).

Yegor Shevtsov's most significant artistic associations have been with Mark Morris, a world-renowned choreographer; Red Light New Music, a ground-breaking contemporary music collective; New World Symphony, America's orchestral academy led by Michael Tilson Thomas; American Ballet Theatre, one of the world's premier ballet companies; Mischa Bouvier, an award-winning baritone; and avant-garde composers Reiko Fueting, Yoav Gal, Andrew Noble, and Scott Wollschleger.

Mr. Shevtsov's principal piano teachers have been Nina Svetlanova and Sergey Edelman.  He has been coached by some of the world's finest musicians, including Daniel Barenboim in his Beethoven Sonata Workshop at Carnegie Hall, Emmanuel Ax, Claude Franck, Garrick Ohlssohn, James Levine, Ursula Oppens, Carol Wincenc, Martin Katz, Jeffrey Swann, Andre-Michel Schub, Craig Rutenberg, Dawn Upshaw, Christine Brewer, and Yo-Yo Ma.  Mr. Shevtsov is currently studying with Edna Golandsky.

Yegor Shevtsov was born in Lviv, Ukraine, where he began to play piano and dance competitively at an early age.  After completing an economics degree in Ukraine and the Netherlands as a George Soros International Scholar, he moved to New York, where he continued his musical training at the Manhattan School of Music and Tanglewood Music Center.  He earned a doctor of musical arts degree with his dissertation on unpublished song orchestrations of Maurice Ravel, which he presents at international musicological conferences.  Mr. Shevtsov is on the faculty of the Manhattan School of Music and its Precollege Division.  He currently studies flamenco in the studio of Soledad Barrio.

More information on yegorshevtsov.com