Logan Skelton


Préludes, Op. 28
  1. Agitato - C minor
  2. Lento - A minor
  3. Vivace - G Major
  4. Largo - E minor
  5. Molto allegro - D Major
  6. Lento assai - B minor
  7. Andantino - A Major
  8. Molto agitato - F# minor
  9. Largo - E Major
  10. Molto allegro - C# minor
  11. Vivace - B Major
  12. Presto - G# minor
  13. Lento - F# Major
  14. Allegro - Eb minor
  15. Sostenuto - Db Major "Raindrop"
  16. Presto con fuoco - Bb minor
  17. Allegretto - Ab Major
  18. Molto allegro - F minor
  19. Vivace - Eb Major
  20. Largo - C minor
  21. Cantabile - Bb Major
  22. Molto agitato - G minor
  23. Moderato - F Major
  24. Allegro appassionato - D minor
Refrain - WORLD PREMIERE Yehudi Wyner
  1. Moderé
  2. Mouvement de menuet
  3. Animé
Gaspard de la nuit (Trois poèmes pour piano d'après Aloysius Bertrand)
  1. Ondine
  2. Le Gibet
  3. Scarbo
La Valse Ravel



Logan Skelton is a much sought-after pianist, teacher, and composer, whose work has received international critical acclaim.  He has concertized widely in the United States, Europe, and Asia, and he has been featured as both pianist and composer on many public radio and television stations, including NPR's Audiophile Audition, Performance Today, All Things Considered, and Morning Edition, as well as on radio in China and national television in Romania.  He has recorded numerous discs for Centaur, Albany, Crystal, and Naxos Records, the latter on which her performed on two pianos with fellow pianist-composer William Bolcom.  Upcoming recording projects include two compact discs devoted to solo piano music of Liszt and Bartók, and a series of compact discs devoted to his own song compositions, all of which will be released by Blue Griffin Records.

A frequent guest at music festivals, Mr. Skelton regularly appears in such settings as the Gina Bachauer International Piano Festival, Eastman Piano Festival, Tunghai Music Festival, MTNA National Convention, EPTA World Piano Conference, Chautauqua Institution, Eastern Music Festival, New Orleans International Piano Festival, American Romanian Festival, Indiana University Piano Academy, Hilton Head Island International Piano Festival, Poland International Piano Festival, Amalfi Coast Music Festival, and the Prague International Piano Master Classes.  Moreover, he has given countless performances and master classes at colleges and conservatories throughout the world.  He is a frequent juror for international piano competitions.

As a composer, Mr. Skelton focuses his work on both piano and voice.  His compositions have been performed throughout the world by a variety of musicians in such settings as Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall and Merkin Concert Hall in New York City, Tblisi in the former Soviet Republic of Georgia, Timisoara in Romania, Australia, Poland, as well as numerous cities throughout the United States, including Los Angeles, Salt Lake City, Tampa, Dallas, New Orleans, Lincoln, Houston, and Detroit.  He composed the requered work for the 1993 New Orleans International Piano Competition, his Suite for Piano.  His song cycle, Anderson Songs, was selected to receive the 2004 Music Composition Prize from the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters.  His work has been favorably reviewed in many publications, such as American Record Guide, The New York Times, BBC Music Magazine, and many others.  Feature articles have been written on his life as a living representative of the time-honored tradition of pianist-composer.

Mr. Skelton holds degrees from Loyola University, Eastman, and the Manhattan School of Music.  He is a devoted teacher, whose piano students have won awards in many competitions, including Hilton Head Island, San Antonio, Cincinnati World, Seattle, Peabody Mason, Bartók-Kabalevsky-Prokofieff, Fischoff, Jacob Flier, Iowa, Frinna Awerbuch, Eastman, Missouri Southern, Shreveport-Wideman, Concorso Internazionale di Esecuzione Musicale, Grieg Festival, Heida Hermanns, New York, Oberlin, and Idyllwild, as well as numerous Music Teachers National Association competitions.  His former students hold positions of prominence in music schools and conservatories throughout the world.  He was honored by the University of Michigan with the prestigious Harold Haugh award for excellence in studio teaching.  Mr. Skelton has served on the faculties of Manhattan School of Music and Missouri State University, and is currently Professor of Piano and Director of Doctoral Studies in Piano Performance at the University of Michigan.